Catechesis Church History Theology

The Seven Ecumenical Councils

A summary of the Seven Ecumenical Councils that define Christian dogma and doctrine

First Ecumenical Council
Place: Nicea 1
Date: 325
Purpose: Formulated the First Part of the Creed, defining the divinity of the Son of God

Learn more:

Second Ecumenical Council
Place: Constantinople I
Date: 381
Purpose: Formulated the Second Part of the Creed, defining the divinity of the Holy Spirit

Learn more:

Third Ecumenical Council
Place: Ephesus
Date: 431
Purpose: Defined Christ as the Incarnate Word of God and Mary as Theotokos

Learn more:

Fourth Ecumenical Council
Place: Chalcedon
Date: 451
Purpose: Defined Christ as Perfect God and Perfect Man in One Person

Learn more:

Fifth Ecumenical Council
Place: Constantinople II
Date: 553
Purpose: Reconfirmed the Doctrines of the Trinity and of Christ

Learn more:

Sixth Ecumenical Council
Place: Constantinople III
Date: 680
Purpose: Affirmed the True Humanity of Jesus by insisting upon the reality of His human will and action

Learn more:

Seventh Ecumenical Council
Place: Nicea II
Date: 787
Purpose: Affirmed the propriety of icons as genuine expressions of the Christian Faith

Learn more:


Source of above information:

See also:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.